LibGuides: Families, Family Therapy and Parenting: Home

Welcome to the Families Research Guide

This research guide helps to locate information on family relationships and therapy through available resources at the Harris and CWRU libraries. Use the menu on the left to explore and remember that your Harris librarians are available for additional help!

Getting Started

A good way to start your research is by locating resources that provide an overview of your topic, and give background information and identify potential keywords in your subject area. Encyclopedias, handbooks and subject specific dictionaries offer good places to start.

Encyclopedia of Motherhood by Andrea O'Reilly (Editor)
Call Number: ebook, HQ759.E52 2010

ISBN: 1412968461

Publication Date: 2010-04-06

With more than 700 entries, these three volumes provide information on the central terms, concepts, topics, issues, themes, debates, theories, and texts of motherhood. Further, the encyclopedia examines the topic in various contexts such as history and geography and by academic discipline.
Handbook of Lgbt-Affirmative Couple and Family Therapy by Jerry J. Bigner (Editor); Joseph L. Wetchler (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780415883597

Publication Date: 2012-04-05

Spanning 30 chapters, the editors and contributors discuss the diverse and complex issues involved in LGBT couple and family therapy. Provides the first in-depth overview of the best practices for therapists and those in training who wish to work effectively with LGBT clients, couples, and families.
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by Gary W. Peterson (Editor); Kevin R. Bush (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781461439875

Publication Date: 2012-09-14

Describes, analyzes, synthesizes, and critiques the current research and theory about family relationships, family structural variations, and the role of families in society. Provides comprehensive assessment of the existing knowledge of family life, with particular attention to variations due to gender, socioeconomic, race, ethnic, cultural, and life-style diversity.
Handbook of Parenting and Child Development Across the Lifespan by Matthew R. Sanders (Editor); ALina Morawska (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9783319945989

Publication Date: 2018-12-17

Presents the latest theories and findings on parenting, from the evolving roles and tasks of childrearing to insights from neuroscience, prevention science, and genetics.
Integrative Couple and Family Therapies by Patricia J. Pitta; Corinne C. Datchi
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781433831201

Publication Date: 2019-07-01

Summarizes current scientific knowledge about the problems that bring couples and families to treatment: infertility, blending families, infidelity, military trauma, incarceration, and sexual abuse, among others. Eleven detailed case conceptualizations illustrate how practitioners and therapists use integrative models to provide care for diverse couples and families.
Intercultural Perspectives on Family Counseling by Brian Canfield (Editor)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781351214384

Publication Date: 2020-01-21

Each chapter examines a couple or family-related clinical issue, offering clinical intervention strategies within the context of a specific cultural population.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Relations by James J. Ponzetti
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 0028658833

Publication Date: 2003-11-01

Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change