Nonprofit Management

"Assesses comprehensively the impact and significance of philanthropic foundations in the United States and their effect on American culture and society covering areas such as education and research, health care, social welfare, arts and culture, religion, social movements, and international affairs"--Provided by publisher

This completely revised and updated fourth edition reflects the growth and changes in the study of leadership over the past seventeen years, with new chapters on transformational leadership, ethics, presidential leadership, and executive leadership. Throughout the Handbook, the contributions from cognitive social psychology and the social, political, communications, and administrative sciences have been expanded.

"An honest assessment for how to determine your individual relationship with charitable giving in today's world. From world-renowned philanthropists Charles Bronfman and Jeffrey Solomon of the Andrea and Charles Bronfman Philanthropies comes a comprehensive guide on how to be a canny, street-smart, effective philanthropist, regardless of your income level. It is also a perfect companion for nonprofit program and development executives who would like to introduce donors to their work and their organizations. " -- From publisher

The highly acclaimed Financial and Strategic Management for Nonprofit Organizations provides an encyclopedic account of all the key financial, legal, and managerial issues facing nonprofit executives. This is today's definitive single-source text and reference for managing any nonprofit organization. Designed for both professional and graduate student readers, this work thoroughly addresses all key aspects of building managerial skill and promoting imagination and innovation in organizations across the nonprofit spectrum.

As the position of nonprofit ED becomes more demanding, there is a need for an up-to-date resource. This revised edition of the best-selling book is filled with management advice for succeeding as an executive director. This new edition includes thoroughly updated information and new content. It covers topics on timely issues and practical strategies including: Avoiding Burnout, Accountability, Professional Networking, Financial Literacy, Measuring Effectiveness, and much more. Ideal for ED’s and board members, the book also includes new cases and stories from the field and “practical tips” sidebars.

In this revised and updated third edition, Carver continues to debunk the entrenched beliefs and habits that hobble boards and to replace them with his innovative approach to effective governance. This proven model offers an empowering and fundamental redesign of the board role and emphasizes values, vision, empowerment of both the board and staff, and strategic ability to lead leaders. Policy Governance gives board members and staff a new approach to board job design, board-staff relationships, the role of the chief executive, performance monitoring, and virtually every aspect of the board-management relationship.

Informed by theories that have transformed the practice of organizational leadership, this book sheds new light on the traditional fiduciary and strategic work of the board andintroduces a critical third dimension of effective trusteeship:generative governance. It serves boards as both a resource of fresh approaches to familiar territory and a lucid guide to important new territory, and provides a road map that leads nonprofit trustees and executives to governance as leadership.

Although Peter Drucker, “The Father of Modern Management,” died in 2005, his timeless teachings are studied and practiced by forward-thinking managers worldwide. His lessons and wisdom on the topic of leadership—the central element of management—are in constant demand, yet he wrote little under that actual subject heading. In Drucker on Leadership, William A. Cohen explores Drucker’s lost leadership lessons—why they are missing,what they are, why they are important, and how to apply them.

Newly revised and updated, this valuable resource, profiling 12 nonprofits that have achieved remarkable levels of impact, including Habitat for Humanity and the Heritage Foundation, offers a wealth of information for creating significant social change.

Survival is a critical concern for nonprofits in today s competitive environment. Strategic Leadership and Management in Nonprofit Organizations provides the tools leaders need to secure vital resources and make sound decisions for their organizations. Martha Golensky, with her extensive experience as a nonprofit executive, consultant, and educator, provides a comprehensive picture of the challenges confronting nonprofits and shows how they can be met in the most effective, efficient, and ethical manner. Every topic is introduced with an accompanying example, a short case study, or an illustration. This book is a useful guide for students and professionals new to the workplace as well as a handy reference for experienced managers on topics such as successfully managing change, strengthening programs, nurturing a dynamic board of directors, diversifying revenues, and building a strong, committed staff and volunteer corps.

In Managing at the Leading Edge, United Kingdom’s nonprofit expert Mike Hudson (a modern-day Alexis de Tocqueville) offers an outsider-looking-in guide to the management and governance of nonprofits in the United States. In this important book, he tackles three major questions: What are the leading-edge approaches to managing nonprofit organizations? What should managers and board members be doing differently to enhance the performance of their organizations? How can the impact of the nonprofit sector be significantly increased? Basing his interviews on face-to-face interviews with leading nonprofit CEOs,consultants, academics, and senior managers, Hudson shows what does and does not work in nonprofit organizations. He then distills the best practices from these organizations into practical advice and guidance.

How nonprofits think (or don't) about money -- The true cost of doing business -- The future must be different from the past -- What is (probably) always true about fundraising -- Creating a fundraising philosophy -- Creating and maintaining a healthy working environment -- How to be happy in development -- Analysis and evaluation -- Developing a donor base -- Segmenting : the key to maintaining relationships -- Building a volunteer fundraising team -- All roads lead to personal asking -- Don't leave money on the table -- Creating financial security -- Immediate steps for handling your crisis -- Mission, message, and damage control -- Fundraising strategies for the next six to twelve months -- The truth about boards and what to do about it -- Dealing with generational change -- Staying excited about donors -- Time management -- Our main job now and into the future

This groundbreaking book shows how to increase funding for social justice philanthropy. Social justice philanthropy provides direct services to alleviate suffering and works to transform the systems and institutions that cause that suffering. Written in an engaging, easy-to-read style, Change Philanthropy offers an insider's view what works and what doesn't work when developing grantmaking strategies in support of social change.

The Handbook of Human Services Management is a substantially revised and updated version of the first edition (The Handbook of Social Welfare Management), published in 2000. Intended for students, teachers and scholars, the book’s central theme is how to manage human service organizations in ways that lead to the provision of high quality, effective services to consumers, a pressing political and ethical imperative in this field.

The second edition of "The Nonprofit Sector" provides a novel, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary survey of nonprofit organizations and their role and function in society, and it also examines the nature of philanthropic behaviours. Each of the 27 all-new, commissioned chapters is written to stand on its own. The contributors, all of whom are prominent scholars in their respective fields, address the history and scope of nonprofit activities in the U.S. and abroad, the relation of nonprofits to the marketplace, government-nonprofit issues, key activities of nonprofits, aspects of giving to and joining nonprofits, and nonprofit mission and governance. Reflecting upon the variety of changes in the rapidly growing world of nonprofits, this new edition examines a wider array of organizations, international issues, social science theories, and insights into philanthropic traditions.

This unique book defines a formal way to benchmark. You'll learn how to prepare your organization, measure performance, and implement best practices as well as learning the five key steps of benchmarking, the arguments against benchmarking—and why you should disregard them, how benchmarking differs from evaluation and assessment, how to form a benchmarking team, how to create a “success equation” that helps you measure your organization’s performance, how to make sure to measure what matters, how to choose your benchmarking partners—and what you can learn from the “wrong” partner, and how to overcome staff resistance to benchmarking.

Roberta Snow and Paul Phillips present a clear and structured way to manage the challenges of limited resources, competing demands, and the need for accountability while remaining true to a nonprofit’s mission. Making Critical Decisions offers nonprofit leaders a proven model for making hard choices that minimize risks while maintaining progress toward the organization’s goals as well as a practical framework for understanding and implementing the decision-making process. The book includes qualitative and quantitative tools and offers illustrative case examples throughout that clearly show how this method can be applied to different types of nonprofit organizations.