LibGuides: Policy: Home

Welcome to the Policy Research Guide

This research guide helps locate information through available resources at the Harris and CWRU libraries on policy issues influencing social work practice and covers numerous topics that affect local, federal, or international laws. Examples include: welfare, social policy, population policy, economic policy, health policy, urban policy, etc. Use the menu on the left to explore and remember that your Harris librarians are available for additional help!

Getting Started

A good way to start your research is by locating resources that provide an overview of your topic, and give background information and identify potential keywords in your subject area. Encyclopedias, handbooks and subject specific dictionaries offer good places to start.

Ebooks

The Handbook of Policy Practice by Ira C. Colby
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780190858834
Publication Date: 2018-02-26
This practice-specific textbook focuses on influencing social policies in an agency setting or through formal governmental processes. The Handbook for Policy Practice explores a wide range of topics that are critical tools in every social worker's policy practice repertoire.
The Handbook of Social Policy by James Midgley (Editor); Michelle Livermore (Editor)
Call Number: HN65.H345 2009. eBook also available
ISBN: 1412950767
Publication Date: 2008-07-08
The Handbook of Social Policy is an attempt to document the now substantial body of knowledge about government social policies that has been accumulated since the study of social policy first emerged as an organized field of academic endeavor about 50 years ago. The Second Edition offers a more streamlined format to make the book more consistent with the way most instructors teach their courses. This text is a comprehensive yet accessible introduction to a vast field of endeavor that has, over the years, made a significant difference to the lives and the well-being of the people of the United States.

Note: Professor Pranab Chatterjee & doctoral student Diwakar Vadapalli, co-author part 1 number 6 "The impact of social policy"
Social Work and the Making of Social Policy by Ute Klammer (Editor); Simone Leiber (Editor); Sigrid Leitner (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781447349150
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
Bringing together international case studies, this book offers theoretical and empirical insights into the interaction between social work and social policy. Twenty-three contributors offer examples of policy making from seven different countries and demonstrate how social work practitioners can become political actors, while also encouraging policy makers to become aware of the potential of social work for the social policy-making process.
Social Work Practice and Social Welfare Policy in the United States by Philip R. Popple
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780190607326
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Presents a history of the field from the perspective of elites, as well as service providers and recipients. A particularly unique feature of the book isthat it chronicles and analyzes the development of social work practice theory. As with other parts of the book, this is done on two levels: from the top down, looking at the writings, conference presentations, and training course material developed by leaders of the profession, and from the bottom up, looking at case records for evidence of techniques that were actually applied by social workers in the field.

At the Harris Library

American Social Welfare Policy by Howard Jacob Karger; David Stoesz
Call Number: HV95.K354 2018
ISBN: 0134303199
Publication Date: 2017-01-18
American Social Welfare Policy , Eighth Edition cultivates an understanding of both national and international social welfare policy. Using a policy analysis framework, the authors give students the background needed to grasp the social, political, and economic forces that shape social welfare policy, analyze the major programs that make up the U.S. welfare state, and discuss basic social welfare concepts. Updated throughout, the Eighth Edition examines the dramatic domestic and international events occurring since the previous edition that have impacted social welfare policy worldwide.
The Dynamics of Social Welfare Policy by Joel Blau; Mimi Abramovitz
Call Number: HV95.B595 2010
ISBN: 0195385268
Publication Date: 2010-01-28
The Dynamics of Social Welfare Policy reinvented the standard social welfare policy text to speak to students in a vital new way. As we enter a new political era, the third edition deploys its distinctive model of how policies develop to include an analysis of the social policy initiatives of the Obama administration. With more graphics, updated charts, sidebars to highlight main points, and definitions of all of the major policy terms, this third edition is the text that best explains the evolution of U.S. social policy from a conservative to a more progressive era.
A New History of Social Welfare by Phyllis J. Day
Call Number: HN57.D33 2009
ISBN: 0205624154
Publication Date: 2008-07-16
Tracing the evolution of social welfare from the early African origins of humankind through the New Millennium, A New History of Social Welfare, 6/e, provides a detailed analysis of social welfare in the United States. Comprehensive yet engaging, Phyllis Day makes history exciting and engaging and encourages readers to reflect on the material.

Policy

Citing legislative documents in APA Style

OpenAthens Library Authentication Method

Welcome to the Policy Research Guide

Getting Started

Ebooks

At the Harris Library