LibGuides: Instruments and Assessment: Home

Welcome to the Instruments and Assessment Research Guide

The Harris Library offers reference materials for locating test information and reviews, including items that contain psychological tests. They are found in journal articles, or in special print compilations.

The CWRU Libraries Catalog is a good place to start searching if you know the specific test name or a type of test (e.g., intelligence, depression, etc.) that you need. One approach is to try a keyword search for the name of the test. Also check out the links listed under Catalog Subject Headings on this page.

Below is a list is a list of resources to introduce you to standardized tests and further suggested resources are available, including books containing full-text measures. Use the menu to explore and remember that your Harris librarians are available for additional help!

Getting Started

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by Kevin Corcoran (Editor); Joel Fischer (Other)
Call Number: Available in both ebook and in print formats
ISBN: 0199778582
Publication Date: Various editions
This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.

Ebooks

Assessment in Counseling by Richard S. Balkin; Gerald A. Juhnke
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780190672768
Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Written in an accessible, conversational tone, this text focuses on the application of the theoretical and measurement concepts of assessment in counseling and introduces three case studies that are followed throughout the text. Additionally, the authors select seminal measures that students are likely to approach and use in the profession.
Essentials of Psychological Testing by Susana Urbina
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781118707258
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
Surveys the basic principles of psychometrics, succinctly presents the information needed to understand and evaluate tests, and introduces readers to the major contemporary reference works in the field.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gerald Goldstein (Editor); Daniel N. Allen (Editor); John Deluca (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780128022030
Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly.
Introduction to Test Construction in the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Joshua A. Fishman; Tomas Galguera
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781461665588
Publication Date: 2003-05-16
Offers beginning researchers in psychology and education with limited statistics backgrounds a practical, hands-on guide to the preparation, assessment, and development of quantitative research instruments.

Print Books

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures by Michael B. First (Editor); Deborah Blacker (Editor); A. John Rush (Editor)
Call Number: RC473.P78A46 2008
ISBN: 1585622184
Publication Date: 2007-12-07
Offers a compendium of the most noteworthy, widely used, and important new efforts in clinical and research measures. Covers more than 275 measures in a wide array of domains, including a review of each measure's clinical utility, goals, practical issues, and psychometric properties. Includes a CD-ROM containing the full text of 150 of these measures.
The Handbook of Psychological Testing by Paul Kline
Call Number: BF176.K575 1993
ISBN: 041505480X
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The handbook provides an overview on the subject of testing. It gives background information on such topics as factor analysis, test construction, types of psychological tests and test interpretation.