Instruments and Assessment

Provides an overview of the principles of screening, monitoring, and measuring of the treatment outcomes of behavioral health disorders in pediatric primary care. Serves as a guide to the selection of psychometric measures that can be used to screen for and/or assess behavioral health problems of children and adolescents.

Two volumes cover all aspects of child and adolescent assessment. Summarizes the state of the science of assessment paradigms, instruments, and methods. With an emphasis on practical clinical considerations, chapters also delve into issues related to test development, psychometrics, and bias.

Has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Each instrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This first volume covers measures for use with couples, families, and children.

Summarizes approximately 150 scales across the field of mental disorders in children and adolescents. Every scale is accompanied by information on the completion of each instrument to allow the reader to see the scope of the scale and its application. Contains full-text measures.

Illustrates the assessment scales used in clinical trials and research studies; shows how to select an assessment scale and to decide which scale to use for a particular clinical situation; and provides sample assessment scales for clinicians to use in their practice. Contains full-text measures.

Provides a detailed review of approximately 150 specialist instruments for the assessment of people with neurological conditions such as dementia, multiple sclerosis, stroke and traumatic brain injury.

Examines the history and challenges of measurement with families and covers family issues that are of particular interest to both clinicians and researchers.

Offers a fresh, integrative perspective on the assessment and treatment of addictive disorders. The work is organized into five sections, which treat theories of addiction, the diagnosis and evaluation of addictive behavior, treatment approaches, addiction among special populations, and clinical and legal issues concerning substance abuse professionals.

This resource provides brief information on the purpose, format, and reliability of the test, and the number of test items. A journal citation is included for each scale.

Allows researchers to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research. In this third edition, 218 scales, complete with full descriptions and psychometric data, are made available, with additional information provided at the companion website for this volume.

This annual publication includes summaries of practice issues important to clinicians. Each volume contains a section on Instruments and Office Forms, which permit quick screens for DSM-IV disorders.

CONTENTS: Introduction; Fundamentals of Attitude Measurement, Direct Methods of Attitude Measurement; Multidimensional Scaling; Indirect Methods of Attitude Measurement; Reliability; Validity; Psychometric Characteristics of Attitude Scales; General Attitudes Toward People with Disabilities, Attitudes Toward Physical Disability Groups; Attitudes Toward Psychiatric Disability Groups; Attitudes Toward People Who are Mentally Retarded, Societal Responsibilities Toward People with Disabilities; Summary and Recommendation References, Appendices.

This book examines nearly twenty instruments for measuring family functioning. The discussion for each includes a history of the instrument; an overview of the model and its conceptual framework; a description of the instrument; information on scoring, reliability and validity; sample items; a description of its sensitivity to crosscultural issues, gender, and variant family structures; a summary of studies using the instrument; and information on where to get the instrument.

This particular compilation serves as a guide to helpful inventories of important character attributes. It has scales that measure self-esteem, well-being, social anxiety, depression, locus of control, and other traits.