LibGuides: Diversity, Discrimination &amp; Social Justice: Home

Welcome to the Diversity & Discrimination Research Guide

This research guide identifies resources relating to diversity and discrimination in a social work/social justice context through available resources at the Harris and CWRU libraries. Use the menu to explore and remember that your Harris librarians are available for additional help!

Getting Started

A good way to start your research is by locating resources that provide an overview of your topic, and give background information and identify potential keywords in your subject area. Encyclopedias, handbooks and subject specific dictionaries offer good places to start.

Ebooks

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Richard T. Schaefer (Editor)
Call Number: HT1521.E63 2008, Also available as an ebook
ISBN: 1412926947
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
This three-volume reference addresses the wide range of issues that concern race and ethnicity alongside descriptive entries about racial, ethnic, and nationality groups worldwide. Entries are provided for selected countries, biographies, community and urban issues, concepts and theories, economics and stratification, and education, among other major themes.
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies by Ellis Cashmore
Call Number: GN495.6.C37 2004. eBook also available
ISBN: 0415286743
Publication Date: 2003-11-04
Provides an authoritative, single-volume reference work on all aspects of race and ethnic studies. From Aboriginal Australians to xenophobia, Nelson Mandela to Richard Wagner, sexuality to racial profiling, the Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context.
Human Behavior Theory and Social Work Practice with Marginalized Oppressed Populations by Roberta R. Greene; Michael Wright; Melvin Herring; Nicole Dubus; Taunya Wright
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780429489198
Publication Date: 2019-05-09
Addresses what social workers can do to combat the increasingly complex social concerns that face the profession, and explores how to incorporate the celebration of diversity and the protection of human rights into social work curricula and the helping process.
Social Justice and Advocacy in Counseling by Mark Pope; Mariaimeé Gonzalez
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781138285293
Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Provides a thorough and up to date grounding in social justice and advocacy for counseling students and faculty. Chapters address issues of discrimination and oppression and their effect on individuals and cultural groups through a variety of activities and handouts related to each of the eight CACREP core standards.

At the Harris Library

Readings for Diversity and Social Justice by by Maurianne Adams (Editor)
Call Number: E184.A1 R386 2018 (On reserve and at KSL)
ISBN: 9781138055285
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
With full sections dedicated to racism, religious oppression, classism, ableism, youth and elder oppression, as well as an integrative section dedicated to sexism, heterosexism, and transgender oppression, this bestselling text goes far beyond the range of traditional readers. New essay selections in each section of this fourth edition have been carefully chosen to keep topic coverage timely and readings accessible and engaging for students.
The SAGE Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping and Discrimination by Victoria M. Esses (Editor); Miles Hewstone (Editor); John F. Dovidio (Editor); Peter Glick (Editor)
Call Number: HM1091.S24 2010
ISBN: 1412934532
Publication Date: 2010-08-05
Provides comprehensive coverage on the state of research, critical analysis and promising avenues for further study on prejudice, stereotyping and discrimination. Each chapter presents in-depth reviews of specific topics, describing the current state of knowledge and identifying the most productive new directions for future research.
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by Maurianne Adams (Editor); Lee Anne Bell (Editor)
Call Number: LC196.5.U6 T43 2016
ISBN: 1138023337
Publication Date: 2016-02-03
Filled with ready-to-apply activities and discussion questions, this book provides teachers and facilitators with an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. The revised edition also focuses on providing students the tools needed to apply their learning about these issues.

Diversity, Discrimination & Social Justice

OpenAthens Library Authentication Method

Welcome to the Diversity & Discrimination Research Guide

Getting Started

Ebooks

At the Harris Library