Mental Health

"This second edition of Legal and Ethical Dictionary for Mental Health Professionals confronts the problems arising from a lack of clear understanding of mental health laws or terminologies. Case law continues to show that mental health professionals (MHPS) lose cases because they base their professional actions on incorrect definitions or misunderstandings of legal and ethical terms. Some have been professionally sanctioned or had their licenses revoked as a result of making professional decisions or actions based upon improper understanding of confusing language. This dictionary provides MHPS with clear and concise definitions of legal and ethical terminologies. To enhance the professionals understanding, a professional significance section has been added after the definitions to further comprehension of practical dimensions of the words and to aid in legal and ethical decision-making."--BOOK JACKET

The award-winning Handbook is distinctive in its focus on how the organization and functioning of society influences the occurrence of mental disorder and its consequences. A core issue that runs throughout the text concerns the differential distribution of mental illness across various social strata, defined by status characteristics such as gender, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and age. The contributions to this volume shed light on the social, cultural, and economic factors that explain why some social groups have an elevated risk of disorder. They also address the social repercussions of mental disorder for individuals, including stigmatization within the larger society, and for their families and social networks.

Psychiatric clinicians should use rating scales and questionnaires often, for they not only facilitate targeted diagnoses and treatment; they also facilitate links to empirical literature and systematize the entire process of management. Clinically oriented and highly practical, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an ideal tool for the busy psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, family physician, or social worker. In this ground-breaking text, leading researchers provide reviews of the most commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. The full range of psychiatric disorders are covered in brief but thorough chapters, each of which provides a concise review of measurement issues related to the relevant condition, along with recommendations on which dimensions to measure – and when.

Psychiatrist Daniel Carlat exposes deeply disturbing problems plaguing his profession, revealing the ways it has abandoned its essential purpose: to understand the mind, so that psychiatrists can heal mental illness and not just treat symptoms. As he did in his hard-hitting and widely read New York Times Magazine article "Dr. Drug Rep," and as he continues to do in his popular watchdog newsletter, The Carlat Psychiatry Report, he writes with bracing honesty about how psychiatry has so largely forsaken the practice of talk therapy for the seductive—and more lucrative—practice of simply prescribing drugs, with a host of deeply troubling consequences.

Psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students need complete and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume One has been the reference of choice for almost three decades. This indispensable resource is updated and expanded to include much new material. It uniquely and effectively blends psychology and behavioral science. The Fourth Edition features over 1,200 entries; complete coverage of DSM disorders; and a bibliography of over 10,000 citations. Readers will benefit from up-to-date and authoritative coverage of every major area of psychology.

The 2nd edition of A Handbook for the Study of Mental Health provides a comprehensive review of the sociology of mental health, with chapters written by leading scholars and researchers in their fields. The volume presents an overview of historical, social, and institutional frameworks for understanding mental health and illness.

Over the course of an African American’s lifetime, mental health care needs change according to an individual’s unique interactions with his or her environment. Mental Health Care in the African-American Community uses this perspective to provide a deeper analysis of factors and issues affecting the mental health of African Americans. This comprehensive text provides a current and historical analysis of the impact of mental health research, policy, community, and clinical practice from a life course perspective.

Rooted in research findings that support an evidence-based orientation to treatment and recovery, the sixth edition of Mental Health and Social Policy takes a multidisciplinary approach to mental health and social policy. It examines the nature, origins, distribution, and consequences of disorders, while detailing information on the services, programs, and social policies that have been developed to assist people with mental health problems.

In these volumes, experts in their respective fields draw together compelling chapters on the abnormal psychology and resulting behaviors that are today most often and most dramatically at issue in our world, including such topics as workaholism. Written with accessibility in mind, the set is intended to bridge the gap between research monographs and self-help books, to give layreaders and students solid and up to date information without having to translate jargon-heavy text.

Completely updated, this classic text includes new chapters on prevailing social issues and covers the latest advances in theory, ethics, measurement, clinical practice, assessment, and more.

Clinicians who understand mental health care administration in addition to their clinical fields are likely to be valuable to the organizations in which they work. This handbook is an accessible source of information for professionals coming from either clinical or management backgrounds. Sections offer coverage in: mental health administrative principles, mental health care management, business, finance and funding of care, information technology, human resources and legal issues.

The cornerstone text in the field for 50 years, Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry has consistently kept pace with the rapid growth of research and knowledge in neural science, as well as biological and psychological science. This two-volume Tenth Edition shares the expertise of over 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas.